

April 28, 2010 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,683 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Superintendent Keith Pain at 815.469.9103

In personnel matters, the Board:

- approved the continued employment of Jennifer Boyer as a sub paraprofessional for the remainder of the school year;
- approved the employment of Susan MacLeod as a .5 teacher for the 2010-2011 school year;
- approved the employment of Kyle Fischer as a teacher for the 2010-2011 school year;
- approved the employment of Richard Schereck as a teacher for the 2010-2011 school year;
- approved the employment of Tara Connors as a teacher for the 2010-2011 school year; and
- accepted the resignation of teacher Kim Capretz as of May 28, 2010.

In other matters, the Board:

- heard a presentation by third and fourth grade Arbury Hills students concerning their research on international trade and the states within the United States;
- heard a presentation on earthquakes by Summit Hill Jr. High students using the Problem Based Learning (PBL) model;
- noted the District received a Certificate of Financial Recognition from the Illinois State Board of Education based on the District's 2010 financial profile;
- accepted, with appreciation, gifts from Mokena Park District in the amount of \$500 and the Lions Club in the amount of \$750;
- heard a report about Summer School enrollment;
- heard a report on the District Improvement Team meeting that was held on April 21;
- heard a report concerning the District 843 meeting that was held on April 27;
- heard about the limited maintenance work that will be conducted this summer;
- discussed club fee and activity fee assignments; and
- heard that there currently are 3,683 students enrolled in District schools.



At Wednesday night's meeting, the Board congratulated Dr. Julian Rogus School student Emily Costella for being selected as a semi-finalist in the Illinois Fatherhood Writing Contest. She is pictured with Board President Sean William Doyle (left) and Superintendent Keith Pain.

Sean William Doyle President Dee Molinare Vice President Ken Balcerzak Secretary Mary Kenny Member Denise A. Lenz Member David Macek Member

Joy Murphy Member